Author Topic: What's involved in teaching sewing classes?  (Read 9773 times)

Offline kitnrose

• My little shop - stop in and have some tea!
What's involved in teaching sewing classes?
« on: January 13, 2008, 03:11:14 AM »
For various reasons, mostly due to being overwhelmed with the time and energy committment, I'm seriously considering stepping down from my current job.  I'm a full time grad student and finally realized I'd rather slow down, take out a loan, and actually focus on school rather than try and juggle a full load and a demanding job.  To keep my scholarship I do need to keep employed and so I started thinking ... why not teach sewing classes here on campus?  There's a surprising demand, judging by how many people start hinting for lessons once they find out I sew and we've had a some amazingly kind people donate new and gently used machines so it's that much easier for poor students to get started.  Anyway, I'm in the first steps of thinking and would love some advice.  My first thoughts were to start with an Introduction to Sewing class focusing on the uber-basics - things like threading the machine, bobbin winding, starting and stopping seams, and the like.  How long should that class be?  Four 1 1/2 hour classes?  Too much?  Too little?  What's a good class size?  What're some good books that I should read before throwing myself into this?  Other advice, help, or tips?  Am I insane?  If it helps, I've been sewing for over a decade and classify myself as an intermediate sewer so while I'm not quite ready to teach tailoring or formalwear, the intro classes shouldn't be difficult.  I love teaching and I can't be too bad at it since I keep getting asked to do it.  So ... help?

Thanks! :grinning:

Offline Georgene

• The Sewing Divas
Re: What's involved in teaching sewing classes?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2008, 07:43:29 AM »