Author Topic: Question about Men's Tailored Jacket ;)  (Read 427 times)

Offline Patty_C

Question about Men's Tailored Jacket ;)
« on: March 03, 2014, 10:20:51 AM »
Hi Everyone!

I'm in a bit of a tiffy because I have a deadline coming up and I'm patterning a men's tailored jacket that I will be sending to production. While I'm skilled in patterning women's garments, I'm a newbie to patterning men's. In my Men's pattern book, it says that the back shoulder seam of the jacket sloper is supposed to be 1/2" bigger than the front. Can anyone explain to me why that is and is that true for the men's tailored jacket pattern as well? Does the back shoulder seam have to be 1/2" bigger? Also, does anyone have any tips for me when patterning this men's jacket?

Thanks in advance for your help! I really appreciate it!

xx

Offline PosyP

Re: Question about Men's Tailored Jacket ;)
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2014, 12:33:18 PM »
It is quite some years since I had much to do with making up men's jackets, but I do remember doing a 'first baste' (whilst on 'The Row') that the back shoulder piece was larger than the front and it had to be eased in to fit.  This might be instead of having a dart there to add extra fullnes for the shoulder blades. 

Sorry I cannot help further.

Offline BetsyV

• Trillium Undulatum; Painted Trillium
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2014, 12:45:56 PM »
That doesn't sound right to me, Patty. I've put together 2 different men's suit jackets and the back shoulder seam was nowhere near 1/2" longer than the front. Couldn't have - you couldn't ease 1/2" in only 6" length. Neither pattern used back shoulder darts. Both Vogue, one from the 1980's and one from 2012.

Offline AnnRowley

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2014, 04:02:03 PM »