Author Topic: Machine for sewing upholstery?  (Read 12691 times)

Offline Houdini

• Beautiful New Mexico
Machine for sewing upholstery?
« on: March 15, 2012, 03:41:08 PM »
     I'm new here and this is my first time posting a question.  My husband and I are building a car.  The seats are completely without upholstery.  In fact, there's nothing there with which to make a pattern.  I think we can probably figure out what to do by studying books about auto upholstery, but I know that my little, very basic, Phaff will not handle the job.  I would like some opinions on what industrial model sewing machine would be right for this job.  We're thinking that maybe we could save money by doing it ourselves even though, I'm sure, the cost of a sewing machine will be dear.

I've upholstered a couch before, but I fought with the machine the whole time because it really wasn't strong enough for that heavy job.  I want the right tools this time.

Offline dscheidt

Re: Machine for sewing upholstery?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 04:29:31 PM »
The auto upholstery places I'm familiar with mostly use single needle walking foot machines.  there are a bunch of suitable models around.  Don't forget that if you don't pay too much, the machine will be worth what you paid for it after you're done with it. 

Offline Merl

• "
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 04:45:41 PM »
You could get a Sailrite walking foot machine that would do the job for less than $1000. new and resell it when done with it or keep it, as it is more like a home machine on steroids and portable.
I don't have any connection with the company but, I've heard good things from those that own them.
As dscheidt points out, you could get a used industrial walking foot to do the job and resell it for what you paid for it when you are done with it but, I'll bet once you try an industrial sewing machine, you won't go back. :)

Offline Houdini

• Beautiful New Mexico
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2012, 07:21:54 PM »