Author Topic: Bernina minimatic 707  (Read 5325 times)

Offline fishfrienddiver

• New (or Just Quiet) Member :)
Bernina minimatic 707
« on: December 10, 2011, 12:56:47 AM »
Hi,
I am a sewing novice and am looking at buying a Bernina minimatic 707 from craigslist. Is 250 a good price for the machine? Is this a good machine for beginners.
Thanks for your help.
Jay

Offline Merl

• "
Re: Bernina minimatic 707
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2011, 02:34:37 AM »
Hi, Jay. Welcome to Stitchers Guild !
Making a quick search for the machine, it looks like it would be a good machine for a beginning sewer.
Berninas have a good reputation as a high quality machine and hold their value because of it.
Just because I might think  $250. is a lot doesn't mean the machine isn't worth it.
Looking at the features the machine has to offer by way of stitches, free arm and a huge selection of feet, I would say it is probably a good deal for you if the machine works and is complete.
Keep in mind that parts for a Bernina are expensive. I have a Bernina 830 Record form the 70's that has a bad foot pedal. At $150. for a replacement, I'll have to take it apart and fix it myself or replace it with something else.
Bear in mind to that just because this is an older, all metal machine doesn't mean it will do "heavy duty" or "industrial" work.
The machine you are looking at is just a good quality home sewing machine and would be a good choice if you intend to stay with sewing.
If you try sewing for a while and decide not to pursue it further, you could probably resell the machine for what you paid for it as long as you take care of it.
Learning some basic sewing machine maintenance will be absolutely necessary for this machine as well.
Older machines like this are made to be taken care of with regular cleaning and oiling before and after use and, probably an annual service either by a qualified technician or you, if you know how.