Author Topic: Pfaff Creative Vision 4.0 problems  (Read 4079 times)

Offline thequiltedbead

• New (or Just Quiet) Member :)
Pfaff Creative Vision 4.0 problems
« on: November 28, 2011, 02:33:33 AM »
Hi Im a newbie in here but have been quilting for quite some time.  A couple of years ago I made a huge mistake and sold my Bernina Aurora 440E.  Was sold a bill of goods on the Pfaff.

Here is my trouble....I am trying to freemotion quilt a flannel quilt.  Both the top and the backing are flannel.  It just wont do it.  I have tried everything.  changing needles, threads, cleaning the machine.  It skips stitches and then the thread breaks.  Does anyone have any experience with flannel and pfaffs?

Any suggestions will be gratefully accepted.
Leslie

Offline Meg

Re: Pfaff Creative Vision 4.0 problems
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 11:08:54 AM »
Leslie,
I have a Pfaff QE4.0, have never tried quilting with flannel, but may have a thought or two about your issue.  First, welcome to this board.  There are lots of people to help and inspire!
I've found that if the thread is breaking there's a problem with how it's threaded or how the thread is coming off the spool. Please accept apologies if this is too basic:  Clip the thread (between the spool and the tension discs), pull the thread out through the needle.  Check the orientation of the spool:  Hold the spool in the right hand, and with the left fingers take thread off the spool, about 18" or so.  Bring your hands together so the thread dangles down; if the thread makes a "U", that's the orientation the spool should sit in.  If the thread twists, it'll cause problems later on.  Turn the spool around (180 degrees) and the twist will disappear.  Thread the machine (presser foot up).  Re-set the bobbin.