Author Topic: Best Pants Pattern for an Advanced Beginner?  (Read 5239 times)

Offline melissamade

Best Pants Pattern for an Advanced Beginner?
« on: March 13, 2011, 02:54:12 AM »
I am NO expert, I want a pants pattern with really good directions. not looking to do elastic, that I can do.  I want to do a real waistband.  I already bought and sold :postal:. Silhouettes pants patterns  :-X   I am about to try vogue i heard good things.  Any one care to give me some advice on what patterns are better for someone who is an advanced beginner. 

thank you so much. 8)

Offline reanns

• Re's Home on the Road
Re: Best Pants Pattern for an Advanced Beginner?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 03:39:11 AM »
Hi - Connie Crawford does wonderful fitting patterns for Butterick.  The woman who teaches pants and bodice pattern fitting for our sewing groups swears by them and uses nothing else.  And I must admit, she fitted me in #5222 and they are perfect.  This is a classic pants pattern, front and back darts, front zipper, waistband.  My other favorites are The Sewing Workshop's Hudson pants and the Trio Pants. 

Good luck and keep us posted on your results.

ReAnn

Offline dianeS

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 03:24:59 PM »
I recently took a pants fitting class and the instructor would
only let us use a Burda envelope pattern. My alterations ended up being quite simple and  I didn't have to deal with the fabric bunching under the rear end like the I get with the Big 4.

Offline LizGo

• My sewing pictures
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2011, 03:58:59 PM »