Author Topic: Six-piece autumn collection sew-along  (Read 81227 times)

Offline Femme1

Re: Six-piece autumn collection sew-along
« Reply #140 on: September 03, 2009, 02:15:02 PM »
I've never participated in any sew-alongs (or any sewing contests for that matter), and so I thought I'd throw my lot in with y'all. Sounds like a lot of fun seeing how everyone progresses. I definitely want to shop my stash, and I already think I'm going with brown as the basic color, with maroon/burgundy. Not sure of any other colors yet.

Company is coming this weekend, so I hope I don't act too impatient until they leave on Sunday morning (probably should remove my "I'd rather be sewing" sign from the fridge). No, but really. Really.

I've read back over the previous posts, and you've inspired me to try something else I've never done before---doing a storyboard or sketches of the projects. I can't wait! ;D

Deb

Offline Janis

• My Blog
« Reply #141 on: September 03, 2009, 02:18:36 PM »
Marcia, thanks for the comment on my blouse.  I know what it's like to be anxious to get something cut out and started.  You were wise to STOP, however! Nothing good ever comes from rushing (ask me how I know ::))

Debbie, I use a pattern size that corresponds to my high bust measurement, which is 32.  So whatever size is close to a 32 bust measurement, that's the one I use (usually a 10).  Then I do a full bust adjustment and scale out to about a 14 on the side seams.  I also take about 1 inch out of each shoulder seam.  Voila!  The perfect fit!  No wonder ready-to-wear doesn't work for me  :(.

« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 04:28:23 PM by Janis »
"This is emphatically not a quick project, just savour the process..."  Ann Rowley

My Blog
http://janssewingroom.wordpress.com

Offline Karendee

« Reply #142 on: September 03, 2009, 03:13:50 PM »
Janis,