Author Topic: Repair or replace dear old serger?  (Read 4972 times)

Offline Liz Schneider

Repair or replace dear old serger?
« on: November 29, 2008, 09:11:42 PM »
Happy Thanksgiving all!
Well, I am worried repairs and parts for the old serger are going to exceed the cost of a new one.  But it was Mom's pride and joy, from 1991, and although she used it regularly in the 1990's, she is a very meticulous and careful user and owner so I thought it would be in impeccable shape.  I am a complete beginner to sergers and had some trouble getting consistent stitches, so I took it to a very competent professional non-dealer repairman to have it oiled and adjusted etc.  He can't get it to chain on fabric now, although it chains on its own.  He gave it two tries, 2nd try he had gone to some trouble to acquire a downloaded printout of  the technical manual and let me have that.  It's a White 734D, used to be top of the line.  Took it to a White certified shop, they wanted $100 minimum to look at it.  Didn't leave it there, took it to a dealer, fortunately they will give an estimate before doing anything.
Are they trying to sell me up (make me buy new although it isn't broken?) I'll never know. They all say the new ones have plastic parts and this is better built although not as easy to thread, and the parts less easy to acquire, etc.  I would appreciate any help you have to make the decision.  I'm having difficulty with my ignorance, sentimentality, and of course, being frugal. 
Thanks! -Liz

Offline Liz Schneider

Re: Repair or replace dear old serger?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 08:47:13 PM »
AFTER TAKING IT TO FOUR DIFFERENT PLACES I finally did get a repair, and thought it worth $100 to do, versus a new machine.  Thanks to all who read the post.  I understand why nobody replied.  It was a personal problem and you could not answer all the variables.  I should not have been so self-indulgent.