Author Topic: Woodworking!!  (Read 3185 times)

Offline MelissasHusband

Woodworking!!
« on: January 28, 2012, 03:17:06 PM »
I'm just sayin'....

If you've mastered making three dimensional stuff from patterns using a floppy, stretchy, ravel-ly, fabric, think of how easy it would be to make three dimensional stuff from plans using a rigid, non-drapey, non-stretchy material like wood.  So, you saw instead of sheer, you glue instead of stitch.  I'm amazed how much of the mindset translates between the two.

I've been a woodworker http://steve68steve68.blogspot.com/ for many years, and like sewing, there's a lot to learn.  But also like sewing, a few basic tools, some determination and planning, and you can really make a lot of stuff.  Also like sewing, the more you do it/ learn, the more ambitious your projects will be and the better your results.  The required personality and motivations for sewing and woodworking are identical, as far as I'm concerned.

I guess as a man who's taken up sewing, it's incumbent upon me to try and encourage the largely female population here to think about making some sawdust.

Zalin

Re: Woodworking!!
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 04:37:42 PM »
MelissasHusband, my husband is also a woodworker so the tools are available to me. I have often helped him and have gotten pretty good with the compound miter saw. :)

I'm very interested in woodworking as a hobby and am inspired by this blog. http://ana-white.com/

Right now my biggest obstacle is time. There's just not enough time for all the hobbies I am interested in. What in your opinion is the biggest obstacle for women who are interested in woodworking?

Offline Elona

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 05:20:56 PM »