Author Topic: SWAP 2012 Discussion  (Read 97189 times)

Offline Robin

• a little sewing blog
Re: SWAP 2012 Discussion
« Reply #525 on: February 01, 2012, 01:57:01 AM »
speaking of dresses ... I know you are looking at a woven, Elizabeth, but I must describe a 2-piece dress I saw today.
Ruthie's (very cute) bright knit dress reminded me of this.

A co-worker wore a knit top with a matching knit skirt today and it really looked good.  I studied the whole thing as she walked by.
The top looked like the Christine Jonson Princess Wrap pattern, perhaps a little longer & more tunic-like.   The skirt beneath was a gored skirt.  There was a matching tie belt at the waist.
It was a colorful print ITY and gave the look of a dress, but it was really two pieces.
She is about my age.  I wonder where she got it?  It was really cute.

Offline subversivesewer

• Someday I will figure this sewing thing out!
    • Crafty Citizen
« Reply #526 on: February 01, 2012, 04:45:11 AM »
thanks, RuthieK and Lynda!!  I did it and it worked!  I just put it on the storyboard thread.  I haven't chosen the last garment that I'll make twice yet, but it's a start!  I also only have fabric for 2 of the garments! 
Nikki- Palmetto, FL
Former PR member known as candyo

http://craftycitizen.wordpress.com
Instagram: orangeblossompr

We can't do better unless we know what needs improvement.  I welcome all feedback!

Offline ejvc

• Machine-Knitting Cryptographer and Plan-Bot
  • Me about age 2
    • The Fabulous Dr E's Fabulous Blog
« Reply #527 on: February 01, 2012, 09:07:44 AM »
Robin, I agree that knit two-pieces are really nice.  I have two issues: 1) I've used up all my t-shirt patterns; and 2) I really don't lke the way I look in knit skirts, much less patterned knit skirts.  However, they are far less in danger of looking frumpy. 

Vandy, great stuff, but I especially love that Chanin t-shirt.  I keep wanting to make one but it always fall to the bottom of my list of projects.  Well done.