Author Topic: Place Mat Size?  (Read 14032 times)

Offline Neha smith

• New (or Just Quiet) Member :)
Place Mat Size?
« on: October 28, 2011, 09:28:18 AM »
Our family will be having a reunion by May next year. I am thinking of knitting place mats for us to use by that time. Do you have any suggestions as to what pattern would best apply? And what's the best size?
I hope you can give me answers for this is my first time knitting a place mat.
Thanks a lot!! :)

Offline BeeBee

• A Million Litte Threads
    • Pastiche
Re: Place Mat Size?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 11:25:52 AM »
Neha, I want to welcome you to SG and don't want to discourage you from posting and participating in our discussions.  We're a crafty bunch and welcome anyone. But I did notice that you're looking for knitting help and while a good many of us do knit and crochet this is primarily a sewing website.  Sooo... might I suggest you take a look at https://www.ravelry.com/account/login where the truly wool obsessed live.  While you may get an answer here to your questions you'll get 25 answers there - all in under 1/2 an hour. 
Please don't leave us - my intent is to help you find the help you need - not to send you away.  I know I'd love to know how your projects turn out, and I know I'm not alone.  In fact, if you hang around here and get to know us, you'll discover that a lot of us also hang out on Ravelry. :)

Online LynnH

• Me at 10
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 12:30:25 AM »
Neha, here are a couple of links from places that sell placemats to give you an idea of the sizes.  18" or 19" wide by 13" deep.
Bed, Bath & Beyond
How to make your own
A collection of free placemat patterns
And crocheted placemats

Just keep in mind - for the most part placemats are rectangles.  They need to be big enough for the plate, silverware & napkin.
Have fun!
Lynn

Offline Bunnykins

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 05:42:51 AM »
Or you could try Knitting Pattern Central: