Author Topic: What is in a Baby Layette?  (Read 4135 times)

Offline SewingDaisy

What is in a Baby Layette?
« on: September 22, 2011, 12:52:17 AM »
What is considered to be the essential items in a layette?

I have been sewing heirloom clothing for about 5 years - four of those years I was involved in a "sit and sew" type classroom.  Now I meet with my sewing friends once a week to sew. One of my friends asked me to make a layette for her.  I agreed to do it, but am wondering how many pieces are in a 'layette'.  I have skimmed several of my heirloom books and have had a subscription to Martha Pullen's Sew Beautiful magazine for quite a few years.  I could not find a list of what constitutes a layette.

Any suggestions??

Adrian

Great things are accomplished only by the perfection of minor details.

Offline Ann

Re: What is in a Baby Layette?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 01:41:13 AM »
Here is what I found. I am not sure if you are going to sew everything or not.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/buyingforbaby/knowhow/layetteguide/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layette

McCalls and Butterick have a few patterns that have enough pieces that I would call layettes. My favourite is http://butterick.mccall.com/b5585-products-13474.php?page_id=378

Ann
Lives in Ashcroft, BC Canada - Desert climate and often the hot spot in BC and Canada.

Education is a journey, not a race.

Ann's Blogs
http://everythingsewing.blogspot.com/

Offline bessiecrocker

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 07:56:50 AM »
Search for "layette checklist" and you will find lots of info. This, for example is from parenting.com:

Quick. What's a layette? If you answered with anything from undershirts to a stroller, you're right. Technically, it's every item a newborn needs during the first year. For most people, however, a layette simply means a baby's first wardrobe.

1 "take-me-home" outfit

8 bodysuits

3 shirt-and-pant sets

4 coveralls (one-piece footed outfits)

6 pairs of socks