Author Topic: So...who enjoys gardening?  (Read 129930 times)

Offline Daff

Re: So...who enjoys gardening?
« Reply #280 on: February 28, 2008, 05:00:47 PM »
Gardening is my relaxation, I love it, can`t get enough.

Offline ManWhoSews

• Where you can find my paintings:
Some indoor gardening
« Reply #281 on: March 10, 2008, 11:45:43 PM »
Here's an amyrillus that i've been blooming and reblooming for about 7 years or so.  Not that fond of pink (it was mismarked at the store) but this is pretty, any way you look at it.  A little touch of spring for you that are longing for it!   :)

Offline LauraTS

• Chiral Craft
« Reply #282 on: March 11, 2008, 04:21:52 AM »
How lovely...

Well, here in the Bay Area, spring seems to have exploded onto the scene (sorry all you midwesterners covered in snow!). We'll probably get a few more rainy spells before summer, but it's definitely warmed up here. Just like my sewing, I tend to plan more gardens than I actually plant  ::) but I did get some stuff out this weekend. We rent and have a tiny duplex back yard, so there's not much scope for change. I planted spinach and lettuce in containers for a spring crop, and started some leeks and tomatoes to transplant either into bigger containers or into the ground. I also repotted a pile o' houseplants while I was at it, and weeded some of the planting areas at the front of the house. My new big experiment is trying to grow some California poppies in a window box at the back of the house (SW facing) which drains very fast, and so far has been too hot and dry to grow *anything*.

I went to a composting workshop tonight sponsored by our local recycling center, and am pondering a new compost bin system, which is subsidized by the county, but still a little pricey. I'm thinking that something with a lid will be easier to keep moist in the summer than our current plastic mesh thing.