Author Topic: 2018 SWAP Chatter  (Read 69638 times)

Offline Saashka

• Subscribed Member
  • sewing in southern Maryland
Re: 2018 SWAP Chatter
« Reply #245 on: November 04, 2017, 10:54:43 PM »
Medea, I like your sketches! They do a great job of showing how your plan will play out when finished.

Offline dagmaro

• Subscribed Member
« Reply #246 on: November 05, 2017, 01:47:32 AM »
I am already learning so much from everyone just by having decided to be an active member and getting feedback as opposed to my several years of silently reading/lurking.

Ruthie, you have such a clear way of explaining the real constraints involved in project completion. In the cold, harsh light of this practical way of looking at things I think I am going to see where I can simplify (take Indigotiger's suggestion to make my tops into shells or simple blouses) while still maintaining some of the more unique pieces that will make the collection special for me.  I am not good at giving up on a vision and I do sometimes over-estimate my odds of success, but I think I would rather try to find some undivided time for my SWAP (re-allocate time away from other projects) than give up on the original inspiration and turn to something that I know I will be less happy with.  I will also try to sew my items in such a way that they have no chance of being orphans (should I fail to complete) which is another good suggestion.  Last but not least, limiting computer time will be key for me.  I do quite a bit of admin work from home and it is very easy for me to shift over to personal items while sitting at my desk and not realize how much time has gone by that is not actually work related.  Lots of challenges but I feel I am ready for them.

I love your drawings Medea…your SWAP collection looks very stylish and really close to your stated goal!
Dagmar

Online crazyquilter

« Reply #247 on: November 05, 2017, 02:58:38 AM »